Make your own 6-pack at Whole Foods Pt. 1

Alice and I were puttering around Whole Foods tonight, foraging for dinner, when I came across the “make your own 6-pack” cooler. I was kind of excited, because…well, beer! I grabbed 6 that had excellent credentials  cool labels.

IMG_20130207_212759 (1)

Before we begin, let it be known that I know absolutely nothing about beer. I know that if I buy beer it is PBR. Not because I enjoy it, but because it is the cheapest option above malt liquor. The thought of spending $40 on a six-pack is kind of offensive to me. I really don’t care that every hop was hand-picked by organic gnomes. Beer should be like  bread. Affordable.

Smooth Ryed Ale – Bridgeport Brewing
Portland Oregon 6.3% Alc by Vol.

IMG_20130207_215400

Upon opening the ale Alice thought that it smelled like pine needles and oranges. I thought it smelled like beer. I poured it into my favorite Guinness glass and noticed its rich…beer color. It didn’t seem to have much carbonation as the small head dissipated quickly. Upon first sip I was immediately hit with a sweetness that was quickly overtaken by a bitterness that I can only assume is rye. I am, on the whole, unfamiliar with rye. Alice just stuck out her tongue in dislike. I am going to side with Al on this one. The burps smell pretty bad too, according to my wife.

Verdict: Two tongues stuck out.

Apocalypse IPA – 10 Barrel Brewing Co.
Bend Oregon 6.8% Alc by Vol.

IMG_20130207_230131

Alice yelled “Apricots!” when she first smelled this, I thought it smelled like a bag of weed. She thought it tasted like apricots, I will stand by my original statement and say that it tasted like weed. Which, surprisingly, is a really good thing! This one had a bitterness that instead of being offensive, was strangely comforting. Like a ratty old blanket.

[EDITORS NOTE: Paul has never even seen “weed” he just doesn’t know what apricots smell like]

Verdict: Yum!

Inversion IPA – Deschutes Brewery

Bend, Oregon 6.8% Alc by Vol.

IMG_20130207_235415

I’m already two beers in. I don’t really know what to say about this one. I think I used up my limited beer vocabulary.  Alice thinks it tastes like Anchor Steam. I think it is kind of chocolatey with a nice hoppy finish.  This may well be my favorite beer of the evening. I don’t know. I kinda feel like playing metal really loud and yelling at people on facebook. For the sake of a fair and just review I will now officially be breaking it into two parts.

Verdict: Wheeeee!

Please join us tomorrow for round two.

Leave a Reply

